The French Australian Review


The French Australian Review (formerly Explorations) is the six-monthly journal of the Institute for the Study of French-Australian Relations (ISFAR), available with ISFAR membership.
Founding Editors: Dennis Davison, Wallace Kirsop and Colin Nettelbeck.

The French Australian Review is a peer refereed journal, highly ranked in the previous Australian Research Council’s journal ranking list (ERA) system. It is managed by an Editorial Committee supported by an international Advisory Board. As well as fully refereed articles, The French Australian Review publishes other contributions such as notes, documents, essays, book reviews, and bibliographies on aspects of French Australian relations and experiences. The French Australian Review is open to receiving articles on the social and cultural, the political and economic, the contemporary as well as historical, including literature, the arts, popular culture, mutual perceptions at a distance, experiences of travellers and tourists, migration, the Francophone world and comparative studies.

Printed copies of the six latest issues (dating back three years) in the Index (208Kb PDF) are available for purchase by contacting . Prices per issue, where copies are available, on request are:
• Members: $11 incl GST ($10 for overseas) plus postage
• Non-members: $16.50 incl GST ($15 for overseas) plus postage.
PDF copies of the six latest issues (dating back three years) per issue: $11 incl GST. Purchase these in the Journal Archive on the right. Upon receipt we will email the PDF to you.

Older issues are freely available in the Journal Archive on the right. The search field at the bottom right will search across the abstracts and keywords supplied in the Journal pages, but not within journal documents.

Editorial correspondence

Editorial correspondence may be addressed to the co-editors Elaine Lewis and Jane Gilmour by . Articles are to be submitted electronically in Microsoft Word format. Members of the Editorial Committee and the Advisory Board are happy to discuss prospective contributions.

Editors: Jane Gilmour, Elaine Lewis
Editorial Consultants: Ivan Barko, Patricia Clancy
Associate Editor: Phoebe Weston-Evans
Book Review Editor: Elaine Lewis
Cover Design: Judy Worthington, Lynn Smailes
Desktop Publishing: Lynn Smailes

Editorial Committee
Professor Stephen Alomes (RMIT University)
Dr Alexis Bergantz (RMIT University)
Professor Veronique Duché (University of Melbourne)
Dr Jacqueline Dutton (University of Melbourne)
Dr Jane Gilmour (Melbourne)
Ms Elaine Lewis (Melbourne)
Assoc Professor Kerry Mullan (RMIT University)

Advisory Board
Professor Robert Aldrich (University of Sydney)
Professor Ivan Barko (Chair) (University of Sydney)
Dr Maurice Blackman (University of New South Wales)
Professor Peter Brown (Australian National University)
Professor Edward Duyker (University of Sydney)
Dr Viviane Fayaud (CNRS, France)
Professor Jean Fornasiero (University of Adelaide)
Dr Matthew Graves (Université Aix-Marseilles)
Professor Martine Piquet (Université Paris Dauphine)
Professor Xavier Pons (Université de Toulouse 2 Le Mirail)
Dr Elizabeth Rechniewski (University of Sydney)
Professor Margaret Sankey (University of Sydney)